WELCOME TO THE DIOCESE OF ORANGE CATHOLIC DEAF COMMUNITY

Home at St. Mary’s Catholic Church since 2020

Blog

NCOD Pastoral Week

Schedule & Registration

Welcome aboard! The registration for this Pastoral Week is different than what we have been used to. Due to the two different meeting platforms we will be using during Pastoral Week 2021 and each platform has its own log-in access features, you will need to register for each scheduled event below. There are 5 scheduled events in which each has its own registration link. For the Zoom events, you will need to register your name and email so we can send you the meeting link and the passcode. For the GoToWebinar events, you will be directed to go to the GoToWebinar registration.

If you are not yet a member of NCOD, please fill out the membership form before you register below!

If you are a NCOD member (paid membership for 2020 – 2021), you may register below now!

Thursday, January 7, 2021

7:00pm EST/6:00pm CST/5:00pm MST/4:00pm PST

Reverend Shawn Carey, President of NCOD & Director of the Deaf Apostolate of the Archdiocese of Boston 

Holy Sacrifice of the Mass (Zoom Platform)

Click here to register

Friday, January 8, 2021

7:00pm EST/6:00pm CST/5:00pm MST/4:00pm PST

Dr. Marlana Portolano, Professor of English, Towson University, Maryland

Webinar Presentation (GoToWebinar Platform)

“Deaf Leadership & Vocations in Deaf Catholic History”

 Dr. Portolano’s Deaf daughter inspired her to learn more about the Deaf Catholic culture throughout the world and the US.  Her book, “Be Opened! The Catholic Church and Deaf Culture” is the result of this research.  She will present key information and insights from her book in this presentation. Check out the YouTube trailer here: Be Opened! Promotion Video

Click here to register

Also, you may wish to order your own copy of her book: Click here to order

E-Book now available to order: Click here for E-Book order

Saturday, January 9, 2021

2:00pm EST/1:00pm CST/12:00pm MST/11:00am PST

Reverend Sean Loomis, Chaplain/Coordinator of the Deaf Apostolate of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia

Webinar Presentation (GoToWebinar Platform)

“A Bridge for the Deaf”

Presentation of new program from Ascension Press, “Hands of Grace” with intent to help others build similar projects. Check out the YouTube trailer here: Hands of Grace Promotion Video

Click here to register

Also, you may wish to purchase “Hands of Grace: The Catholic Sacraments in American Sign Language”: Click here to order

________________________________________________________________________________________

4:00pm EST/3:00pm CST/2:00pm MST/1:00pm PST

Member Forum

(Zoom Platform)

Since we will not be able to meet in-person for this Pastoral Week, this will be an opportunity for NCOD members to “see” each other virtually and share with each other the experiences of working in Deaf Ministry during this pandemic. We will have break-out groups to do that. There will be announcements from NCOD Board of Directors including the recipient of the Father David Walsh Pastoral Worker of the Year 2021 Award.  We’d love to see you, even thought it will be in virtual! 

Click here to register

Sunday, January 10, 2021

3:00pm EST/2:00pm CST/1:00pm MST/12:00pm PST

Todd Honas, Varsity Catholic Missionary, University of South Dakota

Closing Webinar Presentation (GoToWebinar Platform)

FOCUS: Fellowship of Catholic University Students

Growing up profoundly Deaf, Todd has overcome challenges in his life journey. He played football for the University of Nebraska Huskers. His life journey has led him to discover the calling of becoming a FOCUS missionary. He will share in his presentation on what FOCUS is all about and how he has succeeded in this missionary.

Please note that NCOD Closing Remarks will follow this concluding presentation.

Click here to register

Advent & Christmas Schedules

2021 Mass Calendar

Saturday:

5pm English @ w/ ASL Interpreter Christ Our Savior 

 

Sunday:

9:45am English w/ ASL Interpreter Livestreamed @ Christ Cathedral

11:30 Spanish w/ ASL Interpreter Livestreamed @ Christ Cathedral

 

2:30 pm ASL @ St. Mary's  with Fr. Scott Allen. See St. Mary's mass location below.      

6/20 Church

6/27 Hall

7/4 Church

7/11 Hall

7/18 Church

7/25 Hall

8/1 Church

8/8 Hall

8/15 Church

8/22 Church

8/29 Hall

Christ Our Savior Parish

2000 West Alton Avenue  Santa Ana, CA 92704

Saturday Confession 3:30-5pm with a priest who signs! Confessions are done in the parish hall.

July 3

July 24th

 

 

In California!  

 

Archdiocese of Los Angeles

      Holy Angels in Vernon:  Sunday 8:30am ASL w/ (Spoken English translation) & 11am ASL w/ (Spoken Spanish)

 

Diocese of Orange

      Christ Our Savior in Santa Ana: Saturday 5pm (ASL Interpreted).  Confessions with priest in ASL @ 3:30pm.

      Christ Cathedral in Garden Grove 9:45am English (ASL interpreted) & 11:30am Spanish (ASL Interpreted)-Live

      Saint Mary in Fullerton 2:30 Sunday ASL

 

Diocese of San Bernardino

       St. Catherine of Alexandria in Riverside: Sunday 10:15 am English (ASL interpreted)

 

Diocese of San Diego

       St. Rose of Lima, Chula Vista    Sunday 9:00am (ASL Interpreted)

 

Archdiocese of San Francisco

       Saint Benedict Parish, San Francisco Sunday 10:30am in ASL

 

Diocese of Sacramento

         Deaf Ministry Sacramento-Facebook

 

Diocese of Monterey

 

Diocese of Stockton

 

Diocese of Santa Rosa

 

Diocese of Oakland