WELCOME TO THE DIOCESE OF ORANGE CATHOLIC DEAF COMMUNITY

Home at St. Mary’s Catholic Church since 2020

Blog

Weekly Update

Hello everyone!

Please continue gossiping about our website.  

If you would like help me make videos to promote our Deaf Community please send me an email and we’ll schedule a day and time to make it happen. We would all like to see how Jesus Christ is transforming your life for the better.

Mass and Confession Calendar

We currently offer three places for you to fulfill your Sunday mass obligation. On Saturday Christ Our Savior parish offers a 5pm English mass with an ASL interpreter. On Sundays, Christ Cathedral and Saint Mary’s in Fullerton are another two options. Livestreamed from Christ Cathedral is a 9:45 am English and 11:30am Spanish interpreted mass. If you prefer an in-person mass, St. Mary’s in Fullerton at 2:30 has an ASL/ English mass.

Eventually, when the Covid-19 lockdown procedures and cautions are lifted within the Diocese and or when we can return to indoor services. Christ Our Savior parish will most likely again offer their 7pm Saturday Spanish mass with an ASL interpreter, AND the mass at St. Mary’s in Fullerton will move to 10am on Sunday.

Let’s continue our prayer effort that once we are allowed to begin hosting indoor meetings i.e. masses and groups. We can start up faith formation classes in the morning on Sundays at St. Mary’s in Fullerton.

With regard to participating as a volunteer religious teacher we will most likely have to review your diocesan files to ensure you are up to date.

In the meantime, I will be posting on OCCatholicDeaf.org some zoom socials and meeting times. Stay tuned for the dates to be posted, <1 week time.

I just sent another request for a facebook page/account to be created so that we can start livestreaming our ASL/English masses at St. Mary’s. Let’s pray that it gets setup so that more and more can join us in person and or online.

NCOD Pastoral Week

Schedule & Registration

Welcome aboard! The registration for this Pastoral Week is different than what we have been used to. Due to the two different meeting platforms we will be using during Pastoral Week 2021 and each platform has its own log-in access features, you will need to register for each scheduled event below. There are 5 scheduled events in which each has its own registration link. For the Zoom events, you will need to register your name and email so we can send you the meeting link and the passcode. For the GoToWebinar events, you will be directed to go to the GoToWebinar registration.

If you are not yet a member of NCOD, please fill out the membership form before you register below!

If you are a NCOD member (paid membership for 2020 – 2021), you may register below now!

Thursday, January 7, 2021

7:00pm EST/6:00pm CST/5:00pm MST/4:00pm PST

Reverend Shawn Carey, President of NCOD & Director of the Deaf Apostolate of the Archdiocese of Boston 

Holy Sacrifice of the Mass (Zoom Platform)

Click here to register

Friday, January 8, 2021

7:00pm EST/6:00pm CST/5:00pm MST/4:00pm PST

Dr. Marlana Portolano, Professor of English, Towson University, Maryland

Webinar Presentation (GoToWebinar Platform)

“Deaf Leadership & Vocations in Deaf Catholic History”

 Dr. Portolano’s Deaf daughter inspired her to learn more about the Deaf Catholic culture throughout the world and the US.  Her book, “Be Opened! The Catholic Church and Deaf Culture” is the result of this research.  She will present key information and insights from her book in this presentation. Check out the YouTube trailer here: Be Opened! Promotion Video

Click here to register

Also, you may wish to order your own copy of her book: Click here to order

E-Book now available to order: Click here for E-Book order

Saturday, January 9, 2021

2:00pm EST/1:00pm CST/12:00pm MST/11:00am PST

Reverend Sean Loomis, Chaplain/Coordinator of the Deaf Apostolate of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia

Webinar Presentation (GoToWebinar Platform)

“A Bridge for the Deaf”

Presentation of new program from Ascension Press, “Hands of Grace” with intent to help others build similar projects. Check out the YouTube trailer here: Hands of Grace Promotion Video

Click here to register

Also, you may wish to purchase “Hands of Grace: The Catholic Sacraments in American Sign Language”: Click here to order

________________________________________________________________________________________

4:00pm EST/3:00pm CST/2:00pm MST/1:00pm PST

Member Forum

(Zoom Platform)

Since we will not be able to meet in-person for this Pastoral Week, this will be an opportunity for NCOD members to “see” each other virtually and share with each other the experiences of working in Deaf Ministry during this pandemic. We will have break-out groups to do that. There will be announcements from NCOD Board of Directors including the recipient of the Father David Walsh Pastoral Worker of the Year 2021 Award.  We’d love to see you, even thought it will be in virtual! 

Click here to register

Sunday, January 10, 2021

3:00pm EST/2:00pm CST/1:00pm MST/12:00pm PST

Todd Honas, Varsity Catholic Missionary, University of South Dakota

Closing Webinar Presentation (GoToWebinar Platform)

FOCUS: Fellowship of Catholic University Students

Growing up profoundly Deaf, Todd has overcome challenges in his life journey. He played football for the University of Nebraska Huskers. His life journey has led him to discover the calling of becoming a FOCUS missionary. He will share in his presentation on what FOCUS is all about and how he has succeeded in this missionary.

Please note that NCOD Closing Remarks will follow this concluding presentation.

Click here to register

1 11 12 13 14